East Carolina University COMMITTEE ON COPYRIGHTS

Membership:

The Copyright Committee shall consist of eleven (11) voting members, appointed by the Vice Chancellor, which shall serve as an advisory body to him or her and the Copyright Officer. The voting members of the Copyright Committee shall consist of five (5) faculty members, three (3) staff members, one postdoctoral scholar, one graduate student, and one representative of the Vice Chancellor, chosen for their familiarity with or involvement in copyright or other intellectual property matters. The Faculty Senate shall nominate to the Vice Chancellor five (5) faculty members to serve on the Copyright Committee. The faculty representative nominees shall include at least the Chair of the Faculty or his or her delegate, one Faculty Senator, one member of the Distance Education and Learning Technology Committee, one member of the Research/Creative Activity Grants Committee, and one at-large member elected by the Faculty Senate. The Staff Senate shall nominate to the Vice Chancellor three Staff Senate Members to serve on the committee. The Graduate School shall nominate to the Vice Chancellor one graduate student to serve on the Committee. The Office of Postdoctoral Affairs shall nominate one postdoctoral scholar to serve on the Committee. The Vice Chancellor may also appoint ex officio non-voting members of the Committee from offices such as Technology Transfer, Libraries, ITCS, University Counsel, and the Divisions of Academic Affairs, Health Sciences, Research and Graduate Studies, and Student Affairs. The Copyright Officer shall serve as a non-voting ex officio member of the Copyright Committee.

Committee Purpose and Responsibilities:

- a. review, recommend, and advise the University on matters relating to this Regulation;
- b. identify areas in which policy development is needed and recommend to the Chancellor new or revised University policies and guidelines;
- c. review the operation of this Regulation and make recommendations for change when needed;
- assist in identifying educational needs of faculty and others related to compliance with copyright policies and guidelines and advising on appropriate ways to address those needs;
- e. serve as a committee to which a Creator may appeal the Copyright Officer's decisions;
- f. meet at least once each Fall and Spring Academic Semester; and
- g. advise the Vice Chancellor regarding exceptions to this Regulation.

Terms of Office:

Members serve a twelve-month appointment, renewable based on continued interest and ability to serve on the Committee.

To Whom the Committee Reports:

Vice Chancellor, Research, Economic Development and Engagement

Standard Meeting Time: November 28, 2018 1:00 – 2:00 pm and March 18, 2019 4:00 – 5:00 pm

Meeting Location: Joyner 2409

Meeting Minutes: Available upon request

Roster:

Marti Van Scott, Office of Technology Transfer, Vice Chancellor's Designee OPEN, Chair of the Faculty's Delegate Megan Inman, Faculty Senate, Faculty Senator Kathleen Sitzman, Faculty Senate, Distance Education & Learning Technology Committee Jeff Coghill, Faculty Senate, Research & Creative Activities Committee Charlie Brown, Faculty Senate, At Large Zoe Yetman, Staff Senate Ashleigh Taylor, Staff Senate Hector Molina, Staff Senate Nicholas Hempenius, Graduate Student Samantha McDonald, Postdoctoral Scholar

Ex officio and optional non-voting members

Angela Dresselhaus, Copyright Officer TBD, Technology Transfer Representative TBD, ECU Libraries Wendy Creasey, ITCS Paul Zigas, University Counsel TBD, Academic Affairs Kathleen Sitzman, Health Sciences TBD, REDE Aaron Lucier, Student Affairs