## **East Carolina University**

# **INSTITUTIONAL ANIMAL CARE AND USE COMMITTEE**

# Membership:

A minimum of 5 members is required by PHS and must include a Doctor of Veterinary Medicine with training and experience in laboratory animal medicine; at least one practicing scientist experienced in research involving animals; at least one member from a nonscientific background; and at least one public member to represent general community interests in the proper care and use of animals.

According to PHS, members must be appointed by the institution's chief executive officer (Chancellor). The CEO can and has delegated authority for this activity in writing to the Institutional Official (Senior Associate Vice Chancellor, Division of Research, Economic Development and Engagement (REDE)).

## **Committee Purpose and Responsibilities:**

To ensure humane and ethical vertebrate animal care and use by ECU personnel in accordance with federal regulations and guidelines (USDA and PHS), accreditation standards (AAALAC, International), and university policy.

#### Terms of Office:

Members are encouraged to serve three-year terms, with the possibility of re-appointment.

## **To Whom The Committee Reports:**

Senior Associate Vice Chancellor, Division of Research, Economic Development and Engagement (REDE)

## **Standard Meeting Time:**

Meetings are held approximately monthly.

### **Meeting Minutes:**

Meeting minutes kept for each meeting as prescribed by federal law.

Roster:

Jim Aloor, East Carolina Diabetes & Obesity Institute

Cecile Baccanale, Department of Comparative Medicine
Alternate: Karen Oppelt, Department of Comparative Medicine

Paul Barry, Office of Prospective Health

Alternate: John Baumgartner, Office of Prospective Health

Jeff Brault, Department of Kinesiology

Jamie DeWitt, Department of Pharmacology

Eddie Johnson, Office of Prospective Health
<a href="Alternate">Alternate</a>: John Baumgartner, Prospective Health

Cindy Kukoly, Department of Medicine

Alfred (Trip) Lamb, Department of Biology

Marianne Lohr, Community Member

James McCubrey, Department of Microbiology and Immunology

Susan McRae, IACUC Chair, Department of Biology

Terry Mosley, Pastor Temple FWB Church, Community Member

Dorcas O'Rourke, Department of Comparative Medicine
Alternate: Karen Oppelt, Department of Comparative Medicine

Howard Vainright, Community Member

Jitka Virag, Department of Physiology

Gaelle Deshayes (non-voting, ex-officio), Environmental Health and Safety Alternate: Alana Brewer, Environmental Health and Safety