East Carolina University

BIOLOGICAL SAFETY COMMITTEE

Membership:

19 members

New committee members are selected by the current IBC members, then officially appointment by Vice Chancellor, Health Sciences.

Committee Purpose and Responsibilities:

The Biological Safety Program is established to ensure that adequate administrative, physical, and operational protective measures are in place in order to:

- Protect faculty, staff, students and visitors from biological agents that are stored or handled at ECU.
- Reduce the risk of unintentional release of biological agents and toxins from research laboratories, including the risk of infection or exposure.
- Comply with all regulatory and other legal requirements applicable to the biological agents and toxins.

(Mandated by the National Institutes of Health to monitor use of recombinant DNA)

Terms of Office:

Indefinite

To Whom the Committee Reports:

Vice Chancellor, Health Sciences

Standard Meeting Time:

Bi-monthly, or more frequently if necessary, depending on biosafety registration submittals.

Meeting Minutes:

Minutes from each meeting are kept, as well as every biosafety registration and amendments.

Roster:

Daniel W. Martin (chair) Jim Aloor Eric Anderson Emily Askew Tamm Atchison, Community Representative Paul Barry John Baumgartner, Biosafety Officer Kathy Cochran Paul Cook (ex-officio), Chair, Infection Control Committee Cindy Kukoly Nancy DeMore, Ad Hoc Reviewer Claudia Jolls John Lehman Ann Mannie Karen Oppelt Christiana Shoopman, Export Control Specialist Greg Smith, Community Representative Chad Spruill, Biological Safety Officer Yvonne Taylor