East Carolina University HIPAA Steering Committee

Membership:

Relevant faculty and administrators involved in or impacted by the HIPAA regulations. Vice Dean Medical Director HIPAA Privacy & Security Officer Health Sciences Attorney Representative from Athletics Representative from HISS Representative from HR Representative from Internal Audit Representative from OHIC Representative from Risk Management Representative from SODM Representative from CAHS Nursing Administrators CADAs Representatives from various Health Care Components/clinics

Committee Purpose and Responsibilities:

To provide broad oversight and participation into the HIPAA Privacy and HIPAA Security programs at ECU, involving relevant faculty and administrators involved in or impacted by the HIPAA regulations. Conduct risk assessments for breach notification determinations, as needed. Discuss HIPAA policies and forms. Discuss possible HIPAA issues. Discuss possible HIPAA safeguards.

Terms of Office:

No set term.

To Whom the Committee Reports:

Vice Chancellor of Division of Health Sciences

Standard Meeting Time:

Bi-Annually, Second Thursday in June and December from 8:00 a.m. to 9:00 a.m.

Current Roster:

Michelle DeVille Pete Schmidt Phillip Allen Alta Andrews Martha Dartt Kenneth DeVille Jeff Dozier Jason Foltz Sheila Handley Mike Hanley Dagmar Hermann Estes Caryl Holoman Jenny McKellar Kasey Melvin Ed Connelly Jamie Perry Wayne Poole Suzanne Sparrow Chuck Tanner Thomas Tempel Mary Thompson Mark Webster Sandy Wynn