# East Carolina University Honorary Degrees, Awards and Distinctions Committee

### Membership:

As codified in the Board of Trustees Bylaws: The Honorary Degrees, Awards, and Distinctions Committee shall be constituted as follows: Dean of the Graduate School, Chair, ex-officio voting; five (5) faculty members selected by the Faculty Senate; and five (5) trustees selected by the Chair of the Board of Trustees.

## **Committee Purpose and Responsibilities:**

The Honorary Degrees, Awards, and Distinctions Committee shall receive nominations each academic year and otherwise identify persons to be nominated for honorary degrees. Nominations for honorary degrees may be made to the Committee by any interested person or organization.

The honorary degrees to be awarded by East Carolina University are: Doctor of Letters (Litt.D.) and Doctor of Science (D.Sci.).

## Terms of Office:

The Faculty Senate shall establish terms to be served by their representatives, and the Chair of the Board of Trustees shall establish the terms for representatives of the Board.

# To Whom the Committee Reports:

**Board of Trustees** 

### Standard Meeting Time:

Meetings called when nominations are made.

### **Meeting Minutes:**

Formal minutes are not kept.

### **Current Roster:**

Paul Gemperline, Chair

Board of Trustees-OPEN OPEN Leigh Fanning Vince Smith Fielding Miller

Faculty Senate-Stacy Altman Kathryn Webb Allyson Turnage Johna Faulconer Cheryl Kovar