# East Carolina University IDENTITY THEFT PROTECTION COMMITTEE

# Membership:

16 members

Membership shall be appointed annually by the Vice Chancellor of each University Division.

# **Committee Purpose and Responsibilities:**

To implement and ensure compliance with legal requirements governing SSNs and PII ECU has established the Identity Theft Protection Committee (ITPC) to oversee the compliance of ECU with respect to the collection, segregation, disclosure and security of SSNs and PII and the development of related policies. The ITPC is also responsible for approving the collection and use of SSNs and PII. Members shall have delegated authority to make decisions regarding use of SSN on behalf of their respective division.

### Other responsibilities:

- To establish polices, standards and procedures to enable the university to comply with the requirements of the NC Identity Theft Protection Act
- To review current campus collection and uses of social security numbers and personal identifying information
- To approve or disapprove such collection and use (or future proposed collection and use)
- To review security measures associated with hard copy forms and electronic files that contain social security numbers and personal identifying information
- To document the university's processes for these issues
- To recommend any institutional changes required to continue compliance or best practices

#### Terms of Office:

No term limits

## **To Whom the Committee Reports:**

Vice Chancellor, Administration and Finance

## **Standard Meeting Time:**

Meets the fourth Friday of each month at 10:00 a.m.

## **Meeting Minutes:**

Minutes are posted on the ITPC SharePoint site.

#### Roster:

Dan Blumberg Kenneth Deville Amanda Fleming Mike Hanley Paula Hutcherson Robin Mayo Jack McCoy Kay Murphy Wayne Poole Charlotte Price David Price Hiromi Sanders Brad Simons Mary Thompson Tim Wiseman Paul Zigas