East Carolina University PATENT COMMITTEE

Membership:

A minimum of three members is required but for purposes of inclusivity the Committee consists of a primary and an alternate representative from many Schools or Colleges on campus plus other key administrative support units. Preferably, Committee members should have technical or scientific expertise that will contribute to the assessment of new inventions and technologies within their discipline. Knowledge of intellectual property matters and/or commercialization is desirable but not necessary. Training is provided to all new Committee members.

Committee membership represents the following units: Division of Administration & Finance, College of Allied Health Sciences, Thomas Harriot College of Arts & Sciences, Business, School of Dental Medicine, College of Education, Faculty Senate, College of Fine Arts & Communications, Graduate School, College of Health & Human Performance, College of Human Ecology, Information Technology and Computer Services (ITCS), Brody School of Medicine, College of Nursing, Office of Technology Transfer, Small Business Technology Development Center (SBTDC), College of Technology & Computer Science, and the Office of the University Attorney. Senior leadership for each unit is responsible for appointing primary and alternate representatives to the Committee. The Chair of the Faculty shall serve as primary member and his or her delegate shall serve as alternate.

Committee Purpose and Responsibilities:

Review and recommend to the Chancellor or his delegate the procedures for the implementation of the University Patent Policy; resolve questions of invention ownership that may arise between the Institution and its faculty, staff, students or volunteers, or among individuals; recommend to the Chancellor the expenditure of the patent royalty fund; and make such recommendations as are deemed appropriated to encourage disclosure and assure prompt and expeditious handling, evaluation, and prosecution of patent opportunities; and protect the interests of both the University and the public.

Terms of Office:

Members serve a twelve-month appointment, renewable based on continued interest and ability to serve on the Committee.

To Whom the Committee Reports:

Vice Chancellor for Research, Economic Development and Engagement

Standard Meeting Time:

Meetings are held on a monthly basis throughout the calendar year if timely subject matter review is required. Additional meetings may be called when necessary.

Meeting Minutes:

Minutes are recorded for every meeting and are retained according to policy.

PATENTS COMMITTEE 2018-2019

Charge

Review and recommend to the Chancellor procedures for the implementation of ECU's Patent Policy; resolve questions of invention ownership that may arise between the institution and its faculty, staff, students, or volunteers, or among individuals; recommend to the Chancellor the expenditure of the patent royalty fund; and make such recommendations as are deemed appropriate to encourage disclosure and assure prompt and expeditious handling, evaluation, and prosecution of patent opportunities; and protect the interests of both the University and the public.

Administrative Oversight:

Jay Golden, Vice Chancellor of Research, Engagement and Economic Development

<u>Membership:</u>

Primary Member	Alternates
Kevin Carraway	TBD
Leigh Cellucci	Rick Baybutt
Tim Romack	Paul Hager
David Mayo	Dennis Barber
Todd Watkins	Ray Dionne
Elizabeth Hodge	Alana Zambone
Jeff Popke	Tim Christensen
Wayne Godwin	Pamela Hopkins
Ron Cortright	Hu Huang, Katherine Swank
Matt Smith	Zach Loch
Abdel Abdel-Rahman	Brett Keiper
Kathleen Sitzman	Dianne Marshburn
Marti Van Scott	Carlyle Rogers
Nicole Schwerbrock	Mike Carnes
Stephanie George	Mark Hills, Ranjeet Agarwala
	Tim Romack David Mayo Todd Watkins Elizabeth Hodge Jeff Popke Wayne Godwin Ron Cortright Matt Smith Abdel Abdel-Rahman Kathleen Sitzman Marti Van Scott Nicole Schwerbrock

Schedule

The Committee generally meets at the Greenville Centre Room 1511 on the second Thursday of each month from 3:00 to 5:00 p.m. although interim meetings are scheduled occasionally, as necessary. Individuals interested in attending open sessions of the meetings are encouraged to confirm the time and location of the meeting by contacting the Director for the Office of Technology Transfer at 328-9545. The scheduled meeting dates are as follows:

July 12, 2018	Nov 08, 2018	Mar 14, 2019
Aug 09, 2018	Dec 13, 2018	Apr 11, 2019
Sep 13, 2018	Jan 10, 2019	May 09, 2019
Oct 11, 2018	Feb 14, 2019	Jun 13, 2019