## **East Carolina University**

# Radiation Safety - Basic Sciences Committee

## Membership:

18 members

Members are recommended by the Radiation Safety Officer, but the Vice Chancellor of Health Sciences makes the official appointment.

## **Committee Purpose and Responsibilities:**

As condition of possessing a Broad Academic Radioactive Material License, 074-296-1; the North Carolina Regulations for the Protection Against Radiation dictates that a radiation safety committee will provide oversight for all activities involving the use of materials listed on license 074-296-1.

#### Terms of Office:

Term of office is normally 3-5 years, but members have been reappointed in the past. The Radiation Safety Officer is a permanent member of the committee as well as the "member of management."

## **To Whom the Committee Reports:**

Vice Chancellor, Health Sciences

#### **Standard Meeting Time:**

Meetings are a minimum of three times per year as a condition of the license.

### **Meeting Minutes:**

Minutes are kept for each meeting.

#### **Current Roster:**

Ann Sperry

Abdel Abdel-Rahman

Shaw Muthukrishna Akula

Paul Barry

Nathan Carlson

Reide D Corbett

Ronald Cortright

Paul L Fletcher, Jr.

Richard A. Franklin

Paul Hager

Marcus Jeannette

Joe Won Jung

Laxmansa Katwa

Josh Mangum

Everett Carl Pesci

John Reis

Jeff Shinpaugh

Mark Strausbauch