5/23/2019

East Carolina University

UNIVERSITY SPECIAL COLLECTIONS COMMITEE

Membership:

No strict guidelines on membership, but faculty representation from a number of different departments from the Division of Academic Affairs and the Division of Health Sciences is preferred.

Committee Purpose and Responsibilities:

The University Special Collections Committee provides direction, advice, and support, particularly with reference to matters of private funding, staffing, physical facilities and collection development, to the Special Collections Division of Academic Library Services and the Laupus Library History Collections.

Terms of Office:

None specified; election of Chair is an agenda item at the spring meeting in even years

To Whom the Committee Reports:

Academic Council

Standard Meeting Date:

Reading Day following the end of classes for fall and spring semesters

Meeting Minutes:

Meeting minutes are kept by a designated representative from Academic Library Services who also serves as Secretary to the Committee.

Current Roster:

Charles Ewen (Anthropology), chair

Margaret Bauer (English)

Juan Daneri (Foreign Languages and Literatures)

David Dennard (History)

Festus Eribo (Communication)

Henry Ferrell (History, emeritus) – Dr. Ewen is going to contact him to see if he wants to come off the committee. He hasn't attended a meeting in probably at least two years.

Christopher Oakley (History)

John Tucker (History)

Faculty Senate Libraries Committee representative

John Lawrence (Academic Library Services), ex officio with voting privileges

Janice S. Lewis (Academic Library Services), ex officio with voting privileges

Dale Sauter (Academic Library Services), Secretary, ex officio with voting privileges Marlena Barber (Laupus Library), ex officio with voting privileges Elizabeth Ketterman (Laupus Library), ex officio with voting privileges Melissa Nasea (Laupus Library), ex officio with voting privileges